艺术家

巴勃罗·雷诺索

b. 1955

巴勃罗·雷诺索(1955年生于阿根廷布宜诺斯艾利斯)是一位跨领域创作的艺术家,作品探索艺术于设计之间的边际。雷诺索幼年时由祖父传授了木工,作品中于是使用各种有机材料,如木材、大理石、石板、沙等。1969年他旅行至巴黎,接触了奥古斯特·罗丹(1840至1917年)的作品, 受罗丹寓言式的主体和自然主义启发。1970年中期,雷诺索在布宜诺斯艾利斯大学修读建筑,但为了逃离1976年政变后的独裁政权,他在1978年搬到了巴黎。同一年他赢得了一个奖学金,让他可以到托斯卡纳的卡拉拉学习大理石雕刻。

 

1981年雷诺索开始了题为《水的风景》的一系列雕塑。雷诺索在大理石中刻画出流畅的形状,使作品看似水,并于1982年在巴黎市现代美术馆的“第十二届巴黎双年展”中展出。1990年中期,雷诺索着手用做降落伞的丝绢制作‘会呼吸的雕塑’,借此探索功能和艺术间的关系。这些极简又半透明的雕塑仰赖空气的运动,具有一种被雷诺索与生命的有限相比的空灵存在。2002年,他场域特定的装置作品《尘归尘》(2002年)在马德里的美洲文化中心展出。作为雷诺索最重要的作品之一,《尘归尘》凝聚了雷诺索对水、火、空气等元素的执着。

 

雷诺索持续在他2004年开始的《托内》系列中探询功能与艺术之间的关系。这个系列以1859年德裔奥地利籍的家具设计师迈克·托内设计的标志性椅子为主题,在当时,其型式上的简单和设计上的功能性,都具有革命性的意义。雷诺索充满幽默感的行为艺术作品《耍托内》(2006年)表达了拆卸和使具功能性的家具丧失作用的吊诡之处。这样轻松的做法也能在雷诺索之后的作品中见到,例如《意大利细面长板凳》和《涂鸦》,在这两件作品中他改造了同样无所不在又难以名状的公共长椅。这两个系列并置了向下的、放低重心的坐的动作,以及向上移动的离心彩带。雷诺索雕刻的木质结构也回应了在他早前作品系列《关节》(1970至1980年)中盘根错节的树。2020年,伦敦的沃丁顿库斯托画廊为雷诺索主持了他首次在大英国协的个展,出版了图文并茂的画册,并在伦敦梅费尔庞德街的公共空间装置了他的《意大利细面长板凳》系列中的《简单的谈话》(2017年)。

 

雷诺索的长椅雕塑现已在各式公共场所装置过,包括伦敦的泰晤士河畔、里昂的吉列河滨、巴黎爱丽舍宫的南露台上。艺术家的作品也遍布全世界的公共收藏,包括巴黎蓬皮杜中心国家现代美术馆之友协会、巴黎国家现代艺术基金、巴黎装饰艺术博物馆、布宜诺斯艾利斯现代艺术博物馆、圣保罗现代艺术艺术博物馆。

 

雷诺索在大英国协又沃丁顿库斯托画廊代理。他于巴黎居住及工作。

继续

作品

  • Pablo Reinoso, Still Tree, 2019 Pablo Reinoso, Still Tree, 2019 galvanised steel and wood 1150 kg / 522 lb 650 x 300 x 200 cm
  • Pablo Reinoso, Still Tree, Study II, 2019 Pablo Reinoso, Still Tree, Study II, 2019 bronze and stone 71.5 x 30 x 32 cm
  • Pablo Reinoso, L'Arche, 2018 Pablo Reinoso, L'Arche, 2018 painted steel 600 x 200 x 90 cm
  • Pablo Reinoso, Marco Buenos Aires I, 2018 Pablo Reinoso, Marco Buenos Aires I, 2018 wood 68.5 x 30 x 9.5 cm
  • Pablo Reinoso, Simple Talk (Right), 2017 Pablo Reinoso, Simple Talk (Right), 2017 painted steel 115 x 613 x 163 cm
  • Pablo Reinoso, Spider Bench, 2011 Pablo Reinoso, Spider Bench, 2011 painted steel 95 x 577 x 220 cm
视频

The Making of 'Still Tree'

In the studio for the production of a major new work for Miami | 3 December 2019 Waddington Custot

资讯

展览与艺博会

报刊

Close

搜素

Artist

Pablo Reinoso

b. 1955

Pablo Reinoso (b. 1955, Buenos Aires, Argentina) is an interdisciplinary artist whose work explores the frontier between art and design. Reinoso learned carpentry at an early age from his grandfather, and uses a variety of organic materials in his work including wood, marble, slate and sand. In 1968, during a trip to Paris, he encountered the work of sculptor Auguste Rodin (1840–1917) and was influenced by the allegorical subjects and naturalism of his sculptures. In mid-1970s, Reinoso enrolled to study architecture at Universidad de Buenos Aires. In 1978, to escape the dictatorship following the military coup d’état in Argentina, Reinoso moved to Paris. Later the same year, he won a scholarship to study marble sculpting in Carrara, Tuscany.

 

In 1981, Reinoso began a series entitled Paysages d’eau (Landscapes of water). The marble works were carved in such a way as to give the appearance of water. This series was exhibited at the XII Paris Biennale, Musée d’Art moderne de la Ville de Paris, in 1982. In the mid-1990s, Reinoso began making his ‘breathing sculptures’ from parachute silk. These minimalist, translucent sculptures, dependent upon the movement of air, had an ephemeral presence which Reinoso likened to mortality. In 2002, his site-specific installation ‘Ashes to Ashes’ was shown at Casa de Américas, Madrid. A major work within his oeuvre, ‘Ashes to Ashes’ confirmed his preoccupation with the elements: water, fire and air. The installation presented order versus chaos, a visual contradiction between an industrially manufactured chair and a broken cascade of wooden floorboards; the duality recalled an essay written by Reinoso’s father titled ‘Rupture et ouverture’ (‘Breaking and opening’).

 

Reinoso continued to explore the relationship between function and sculpture in his Thonet series, begun in 2004. The iconic Thonet chair was first produced in 1859 and was revolutionary in its simplicity of form and the functionality of its design. Reinoso’s humorous performance piece ‘Thoneteando’ (2006) demonstrated the irony of disassembling and disabling furniture. This light-hearted approach remained in his subsequent series, Spaghetti Bench and Garabatos (‘scribbles’), in which Reinoso adopted the similarly ubiquitous yet anonymous public bench. The series juxtaposes the downward, grounded action of sitting with the uplifting movement of centrifugal ribbons. The rhizomatic formations echo gnarled roots and tangled branches of trees, organic forms reminiscent of his earlier series Articulations (1970–80). The bench sculptures have been installed in public places, beside the River Thames in London, along the Quai Gillet in Lyon, and on the south terrace of the Elysée Palace in Paris. Reinoso’s work is held in public collections worldwide, including Société des Amis du MNAM Centre Georges Pompidou, Paris; Fonds national d’art contemporain, Paris; Musée des Arts Décoratifs, Paris; Museo de Arte Moderno de Buenos Aires, Argentina; Museu de Arte Moderna de São Paulo, Brazil.

 

Pablo Reinoso is represented in the UK by Waddington Custot. He lives and works in Paris. 

Read more

Works

  • Pablo Reinoso, Still Tree, 2019 Pablo Reinoso, Still Tree, 2019 galvanised steel and wood 1150 kg / 522 lb 650 x 300 x 200 cm
  • Pablo Reinoso, Still Tree, Study II, 2019 Pablo Reinoso, Still Tree, Study II, 2019 bronze and stone 71.5 x 30 x 32 cm
  • Pablo Reinoso, L'Arche, 2018 Pablo Reinoso, L'Arche, 2018 painted steel 600 x 200 x 90 cm
  • Pablo Reinoso, Marco Buenos Aires I, 2018 Pablo Reinoso, Marco Buenos Aires I, 2018 wood 68.5 x 30 x 9.5 cm
  • Pablo Reinoso, Simple Talk (Right), 2017 Pablo Reinoso, Simple Talk (Right), 2017 painted steel 115 x 613 x 163 cm
  • Pablo Reinoso, Spider Bench, 2011 Pablo Reinoso, Spider Bench, 2011 painted steel 95 x 577 x 220 cm
Video

The Making of 'Still Tree'

In the studio for the production of a major new work for Miami | 3 December 2019 Waddington Custot

Latest

News

Exhibitions and Art Fairs

Press

Close

Search