艺术家

Chu Teh-Chun

1920–2014

朱德群(1920年生于中国江苏省白土镇;2014年卒于法国巴黎)以他抽象油画中充满戏剧张力和想象的山水闻名。尽管朱德群的作品是他独自在画室里完成的,他的山水表现受他一生周游列国启发,因而富有宏大的氛围,深邃、诗意又阳刚。

 

朱德群幼年家境富裕,自五岁起便开始学习书法,唐诗亦能琅琅上口。当他在家族收藏中找到王羲之(生于303年;卒于361年)的墨宝,欣喜万分,奋发学习,并于1935年起师从吴大羽(生于1903年;卒于1988年),在杭州艺术专科学校(今中国美术学院)修习欧洲水彩和油画。他追随现代水墨大师潘天寿(生于1897年;卒于1971年),让他接触到清代隐士画家如八大山人(生于1626年;卒于1705年)处理空间时抒发自我的革命性笔法,及石涛(生于1642年;卒于1707年)对书法线条的诉求。在校期间结识了同窗赵无极(生于1921年;卒于2013年),之后还说服了吴冠中(生于1919年;卒于2010年)放弃工程,改执画笔。1937年,八年抗战烽火燃起,迫使杭州艺术专科学校迁往后方,让朱德群有机会一睹江南各处壮丽的山水。在南京中央大学任教期间,朱德群在建筑系担任绘画教授, 之后到了台湾,在位于台北的国立师范大学担任美术系教授。1955年,朱德群前往巴黎。

 

 

落脚巴黎之后,朱德群一开始模仿他在巴黎沙龙展中所见的生活写实主义,此举让他在1956年夺得银奖。同年,他造访了巴黎国立现代艺术博物馆展出的尼古拉·德·斯塔埃尔展,深受鼓舞,而开始走向抽象。这次的经历对朱德群来说影响深远,德·斯塔埃尔的作品启发了朱德群画作中的指标性视觉语言,也是朱德群毕生不断臻于完美的部分。当代欧州对前卫抽象和行动绘画的热忱,促使朱德群重新发现他自己画画的习惯中蕴含的抽象元素。自唐代以来,中国文人画拮取于自然,并视书画诗词同源。尽管朱德群用的是西方传统的油画,他认为他的绘画表现本质仍根源于中国。他在1960年代后期又重拾书法,从他的构图中也能感受到他的笔势越发熟练,并在作品中融合例如《易经》等古典经文的智慧。朱德群水墨、水粉和油画作品中一扫而过的笔触,探索的是书法和绘画密不可分的关系,并承载了中文书写来自问卜和甲骨文的神秘起源之重。

 

 

朱德群在国际间迅速取得了认同,并于1969年受邀参加圣保罗双年展。他也是多所重要回顾展的主角,包括于勒阿弗尔昂德烈·茂侯美术馆(1982年);上海美术馆(2000年);台北国立历史博物馆(2008年);北京中国美术馆(2010年);马赛蒙提伽利基金会(2015年)。朱德群在巴黎度过了他的后半生,并于1980年取得法国公民权。1997年他成为巴黎艺术学院第一个华裔成员,并于2001年获颁学术界棕榈叶勋章及法国荣誉军团骑士勋章。2017年,朱德群基金会由朱德群遗族于日内瓦成立。2020年,为了艺术家百岁寿辰,他们合作制作了一部关于朱德群个人及艺术的历程的纪录片,追溯从上世纪动荡不安的中国,到他在法国逐渐获得肯定的过程。朱德群的作品可见于重要公共收藏中,包括巴黎国家图书馆、广州广东美术馆、勒阿弗尔昂德烈·茂侯美术馆、巴黎市现代艺术博物馆、巴黎塞努奇博物馆、台北国立历史博物馆、上海美术馆、台北市立美术馆。

继续

作品

最近

资讯

展览与艺博会

报刊

出版物

Close

搜素

Artist

Chu Teh-Chun

1920–2014

Chu Teh-Chun (b. 1920, Baitu Zhen, Jiangsu, China; d. 2014, Paris, France) is renowned for his abstract oil paintings of imagined and dramatic landscapes. Although they are executed from the confines of his studio, the landscapes are inspired by his extensive travels, the forms of which he has borrowed to give countenance to his sentiments. His compositions possess a profound sense of depth, poetry and musicality, evoking a cosmic atmosphere conjured by his calligraphic liveliness. Chu began to learn calligraphy, and acquire a fundamental knowledge of Tang dynasty poetry from the age of five. Born into a wealthy family, he delighted in discovering and studying the works of Wang Xizhi (303–361) from his family art collection. Although he went on to study European watercolour and oil painting under Wu Dayu (1903–1988) at the National Academy of Fine Arts in Hangzhou, Chu was passionate about ancient Tang and Song dynasty poetry, calligraphy and literati painting. His lessons with modern ink master Pan Tianshou (1897–1971) allowed Chu to become familiar with the freedom and innovation of the Qing individualists, of Bada Shanren’s (1626–1705) subjective and revolutionary approach to space, and of Shitao’s (1642–1707) emphasis on the calligraphic line. After permanently moving to Paris in 1955, he initially adopted the figurative realism that he saw in the Paris Salon, earning him the Silver Medal in 1956It was his visit to the retrospective of Nicolas de Staël at Musée National d’Art Moderne, Paris, in the same year that encouraged him to pursue the path of abstraction. This artistic encounter had a lasting impression on Chu, and de Staël’s works inspired the iconic visual language that Chu continued to refine and develop for the rest of his life. The contemporary European enthusiasm for avant-garde non-figurative abstraction and action painting encouraged Chu to rediscover the ‘abstract’ elements within his own painting tradition.

 

Since the Tang dynasty, Chinese literati painting has abstracted from nature and has regarded painting, calligraphy and poetry as interwoven threads of the same fabric. Although Chu adopted the traditional European medium of oil painting, he regarded his approach to painting as being inherently Chinese. He resumed his study of calligraphy in the late 1960s, imbuing his spontaneous compositions with an increasingly practiced hand, and instilling his works with the wisdom of ancient classical texts, such as the Book of Changes. The sweeping brushstrokes of his gouache, ink and oil works carry the weight of the mythical divine origins of Chinese writing; its ideographic origins sealing the inseparable relationship between painting and calligraphy, merging the acts of visual depiction and conveyance of an idea.

 

Chu initially aspired to be a gymnast but, following the protestations of his father, instead enrolled at the National Academy of Fine Arts, Hangzhou, in 1935. He befriended fellow student Zao Wou-ki (1921–2013) and later persuaded Wu Guanzhong (1919–2010) to give up engineering for painting. The outbreak of the Sino-Japanese War in 1937 forced the academy into itinerancy, allowing Chu to see the dramatic landscapes of southern China. After teaching Architecture at the National Central University in Nanjing, and the National China Normal University in Taipei, Taiwan, Chu moved to Paris in 1955. He would stay there the remainder of his life, eventually adopting French citizenship in 1980. Chu quickly gained international recognition, and was invited to exhibit at the São Paulo Biennale in 1969. He has been the subject of several important retrospectives at Shanghai Museum of Art (2000), André Malraux Museum, Le Havre (1982), National Museum of History of Taipei, Taiwan (2008), and the National Art Museum of China, Beijing (2010). In 1997, he became the first Chinese member of the Académie des Beaux-Arts, Paris, and was awarded the Chevalier de l’Ordre des Palmes Academiques and Chevalier de la Légion d’Honneur in 2001. His work is held in important public collections, including Bibliothéque Nationale, Paris; Guangdong Museum of Art, Guangzhou, China; Musée des beaux-arts André Malraux, Le Havre; Musée d’art moderne de la Ville de Paris; Musée Cernuschi, ParisNational Museum of History, Taipei; Shanghai Museum of Art, Shanghai; and Taipei Fine Art Museum, Taiwan.

Read more

Works

News

Press

Publications

Close

Search